I’m a Fan of… Crayola Twistables Slick Stix!!

From time to time on this blog, I feature crafters, craft companies, and craft products that I am a fan of. Today, I am putting the spotlight on Crayola Twistables Slick Stix!

css

I first discovered this particular product a year or two ago. Of course, I was familiar with the Crayola name since I’d had their crayons and other products as a child. However, I was very impressed that Crayola also makes products for adult art use that stands up to the competition, but for a fraction of the cost!

Crayola Twistables Slick Stix give off brilliant, pigmented color and are very creamy and gel-like. Oh… and they blend like a dream! You have a few minutes of “play time” to blend them before they set. They could be blended with a sponge, but I find that the heat of my finger blends them perfectly and gives me the best control. Plus, when you’re finished, the non-toxic formulation will wash off the skin with soap and water. I do not use them to color coloring pages; rather, I use them for other things such as shading, highlighting, and more! They are great to use for mixed media art journals, card-making, with stencils, or to color large surfaces. In fact, I used them to color the leaves on the project shown below, and they gave the leaves a very realistic, waxy look! ↓↓↓

D First Decoupage Project

Crayola Twistables Slick Stix used to color leaves

I also used them to color plain white printer paper when I make my paper roses. If I don’t have a certain color of paper, no problem! I just reach for my Crayola Twistables Slick Stix and get the perfect finish. When they dry, they leave a slightly shiny, waxy finish (which can be seen in person) so they are perfect for making paper roses!!

crayola paper rose

Crayola Twistables Slick Stix used to color paper rose

bouquet

Crayola Twistables Slick Stix used to color paper roses (glitter added to embellish)

In card-making, they are also great to use! Last Fall, I made a pumpkin-shaped card. Instead of having a flat, orange piece of paper – I wanted to add some dimension and contour to my pumpkin. The Crayola Twistables Slick Stix were the perfect solution!!

20161017_015815

Crayola Twistables Slick Stix used to shade/contour pumpkin-shaped card

Of course, these nifty crayons can be used for far more than I’ve mentioned – but I simply wanted to give an idea of their capabilities. They twist up so you never have to worry about sharpening them. You can get a set of 12 for less than $8.00USD in most stores which carry Crayola products. Give them a try and let me know what you think in the comments!

See what/who else I’m a fan of by clicking HERE.

Thanks for stopping by today! Remember, more fun projects can be seen on my Instagram or Facebook! I’d love to see you there also… Happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “I’m a Fan of… Crayola Twistables Slick Stix!!

  1. Pingback: Survivor: Craft Edition/Part 2 | Multiplicity Crafts

  2. Wow those crayons sound amazing!!! Sounds a lot like Gelatos or Distress Crayons but I’m sure they are less expensive. And you color so beautifully with them. TFS πŸ™‚ Hugs…Janie

Leave a Reply

