Budget-Friendly Decoupage for Beginners

Hello fellow crafters! I hope everyone is doing well. This tutorial is by request and I hope that it helps if you are a newbie at decoupaging (like me) and don’t want to spend a ton of money! For an easy project, I would recommend starting with something simple for practice.

Practice Project

For my practice project, I used a scallop-shaped cardboard frame. I also used clippings from a magazine which had pretty designs in it. I cut the magazine page out in random patterns. Since Mod Podge and other decoupage brands can get expensive, I simply made my own mixture. I found a recipe online that called for equal parts Elmer’s School Glue and water. However, when I mixed this solution together, I found that it was too thin and watery. So, I would recommend adding 2/3 glue and 1/3 water, instead. It is still a thin consistency, but it seems to work.

Begin by using a paintbrush to paint your decoupage mixture onto your cardboard frame (or whatever you are practicing on). Then, add the magazine clippings on top. When finished, trim or file the magazine paper overhang. I used a coarse buffer block to finish my edges. These buffer blocks can be found at a beauty supply store. Simply hold the buffer at a 45 degree angle and file downward (in one direction only). As you keep doing this, the paper will file cleanly away – even around curves. Then, finish with 2-4 coats of decoupage on top. Allow to dry and decorate as you choose.

Decoupage Frame

 

“Next Step Up” Project

Now that you have an idea of how to decoupage, let’s take the next step up. This time, we will be using a piece of cardboard for our canvas, along with the same glue/water mixture mentioned above. We will be doing a mosaic background with some embellishments added later (see picture below). For this project, you will find full directions in my video posted below.

D First Decoupage Project

After you have conquered decoupaging on cardboard, you’re ready to tackle even more advanced projects! You can decoupage on a canvas or you can even find unfinished wooden pieces (such as jewelry boxes, etc.) to decoupage. If you are going to be decoupaging on fabric, you will need to purchase decoupage specifically designed for fabrics since the DIY glue mixture probably would not give you the best results. You can decoupage with many things such as magazine clippings, cardstock, fabric, and even napkins! But, let’s not rush things – let’s get one thing conquered before we get ahead of ourselves!! πŸ˜€

Budget-Friendly Decoupage For Beginners Video

 

I HOPE THIS WAS HELPFUL!

PLEASE DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW AND SHARE IF THIS POST WAS HELPFUL.

ALSO, DON’T FORGET TO CHECK OUT MY GIVEAWAYS & MORE PAGE (CLICK HERE).

5 thoughts on “Budget-Friendly Decoupage for Beginners

  1. Pingback: I’m a Fan of… Crayola Twistables Slick Stix!! | Multiplicity Crafts

Leave a Reply

